Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

SQL Server 2005 JDBC Driver & JDK 1.6

I am evaluating smartclient pro 7 RC1 and am attempting to create a new database connection in the developer console. I've read the threads about the class changes for SQL 2005 and made the changes. I've copied the sqljdbc.jar and sqljdbc4.jar files to my C:\Install\SmartGWT Pro\smartclientRuntime\WEB-INF\lib folder. I have JDK 1.6 installed and when

I test the database in the developer console it gives this error:

Failure: Unable to connect error from driver: java.lang.UnsupportedOperationException: Java Runtime Environment (JRE) version 1.6 is not supported by this driver. Use sqljdbc4.jar class library which provides support for JDBC 4.0.

I'm new to this and can't figure out how to tell it to use the right jar.

Possibly those two .jars define alternate versions of the same class, in which case, you only want sqljdbc4.jar in your classpath and not the other .jar.

Comment

Thanx. That was exactly the problem. I removed the sqljdbc.jar file from the lib folder and it worked as advertised.

Comment

Trouble creating data source from SQL Server 2005 tables