Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

How can we use synchronous Datasource operations?

Hi All,

I am new to use/learn SmartGWT and stuck with a problem regarding Datasource. I have a Datasource fetch operation and the value I get from DSCallBack of this is processed in subsequent logic. But since the Datasource operations are asynchronous, am sometimes left with blank/null values.

Let me know if I am doing something wrong or if there is a way to do Synchronous calls to Datasource.

Code:
    	private String setRoleField(String attribute) {
    		Criteria rolefetchCriteria = new Criteria();
    		rolefetchCriteria.addCriteria("searchFlag", 1);
    		rolefetchCriteria.addCriteria("User_ID", attribute);

requestProperties =new DSRequest();		
    		requestProperties.setOperationId("outletRoleFetch");

DataSource.get("recently_accessed_module").fetchData(rolefetchCriteria, new DSCallback() 
    		{
    			@Override
    			public void execute(DSResponse dsResponse, Object data,
    					DSRequest dsRequest) {

Record[] record = dsResponse.getData();	
    				outletRole = "";
    				for(Record singlerecord: record)
    					outletRole += "<font class='overview-subtitle'>"+singlerecord.getAttribute("OutletName")+"</font><font class='overview-time-label'>"+ singlerecord.getAttribute("Role")+"</font>";	

}

},requestProperties);	

return outletRole;
    	}
    This code is always returning me "" empty value.

The Smartclient version am using is -->SmartClient Version: v10.0d_2014-09-09/EVAL Deployment

Thanks,
    Babu

Hi vinobabu,

clientside DSRequests are always asynchronous. So your DSCallback-approach is correct.

Are you sure that your call returns any data? If not, your result would be correct, wouldn't it? Please check this in the Developer Console's RPC-tab. See the BuiltInDS sample for how to open the Developer Console.

Best regards,
    Blama

Comment

Thanks for the reply Blama.