Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

Recommended starting point for SmartGWT-EE persistence.

Hi SmartGWT-EE gurus…

May I obtain your advice on which persistence back-end is recommended as a starting point to accommodate robust server-side database functionality and sophisticated client-side multi-table interactions?

My client-side needs are fairly complex, involving about 7 tables, most of them edited on the client side in a ListGrid, but featuring extensive usage of comboboxes looking up records in other tables. Of course, the whole structure must accommodate cascading updates and deletes, etc.

I have come pretty far with the ‘ds-JPA’ SmartGWTEE starting point sample, but have come into several issues I just don’t know how to overcome. As I don’t have the source code for the JPA functionality inside SmartGWT-EE, I’m progressing with a blackbox and as I’m not a JPA expert, development has been very difficult and frustrating.

(I am considering restarting with the ‘ds-hibernate’ starting point.

Four questions:
    1. Which of the persistence engine is best supported / most tested with SmartGWT EE for complex database interactivity on the client-side?

2. Between the ‘ds-hibernate’, ‘spring-hibernate-dmi’, ‘ds-jpa’ and some of the approaches in ‘showcase’, which is the recommended starting point?

3. Which of the samples is most ‘open’? (e.g. I can debug through the source code when I get in trouble)

4. If you were starting a large database project requiring sophisticated client-side interaction, where would you begin? (e.g. what sample, tutorial, documentation would you read?)

Many thanks for any hint in the right direction!!

Jean-Pierre