Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

Question regarding data source usage...

Hi all.. I'm a SmartGWT newbie and am trying out some initial toying around with a small project. When I first started this mini-project I was using JPA annotations and wrote java classes describing each domain object. However, after reading the docs further I decided I'd use the datasource xml files (*.ds.xml) instead and gather I could get rid of the individual java files with their getter/setter methods. So, I'm trying that with one class for starters to see if it works like I'd expect..

So, I'm having a little trouble as I can't find any example in the included examples that shows this particular way from what I can see -- all of them use the hand-built java classes for each domain object.. I had a persistence.xml file which I gather isn't needed but did need to have a server.properties file that indicates how to connect to my database. The issue that I'm having is that I'm not seeing any sort of database activity..

I do have a ds.xml file describing a table with the fields.. I've also got some lines in my "html" file (myproject.html) that loads the datasource stuff but I do NOT have any "Datasource.get" lines in the code as of yet.. IF I want to force the database to create the table(s) up-front, is there something special needed or do I just create a method in my EntryPoint class that will force a seed of the database (which in turn might create the missing db)?? I'm sorry if this is something stupid but I just can't find the obvious answer in the docs or on the wiki..

Thanks in advance..