Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

How to do a simple sql select?

Hello,

I am new to smartgwt and just evaluate the framework. I have big problems with datasource. I use jpa2 and want to try it with smartgwt. I created the .ds.xml file and do a

DataSource userDS = DataSource.get("user_DataSource");

But how can I do a simple

UserObject = select * from user where userid = 1

as an example. Your showcase shows how to bind to components but this I dont need here.

It must be simple I guess (hope) but couldnt find a sample. Can I use NamedQuery from my entity object?

Thx for any advice
    Hans

Is there any hidden documentation

Hi,

I dont know, I couldnt find any usable documentation. The quickstart is short and only links to javadoc. Is there any description for the *.ds.xml file or and xsd for that?

Do I need to buy a license to get usable documentation?

Actually I use Vaadin but I thought the components are better and the way how to use it. However I found its incedible heavy to dig in. Are there maybe some documentation which is hidden? Or links to samples beside the distribution

Thx,
    Hans

Comment

Hi Hans,

.ds.xml concepts are also in the docs. See http://www.smartclient.com/smartgwte...e-summary.html

For your query try a Clientside FETCH-DSRequest with an equals-Criteria. You'll need a .ds.xml file before.

Best regards,
      Blama

Comment

To expand on what Blama's post, it goes like this:

1) First you must have a defined DataSource Descriptor file. The DataSource file is the essence of Smart GWT persistence. It's a key differentiator of the framework. Consider not using JPA.

- The naming convention is *.ds.xml, e.g., myData.ds.xml.

- The location is .../war/ds/

- You can create your own with the console called via SC.openDataSourceGenerator(). (Checkout com.smartgwt.client.util.SC, lots of good stuff in there for getting started).