Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

Calendar Widget

Hello all,

I am a newbie to SmartGWT (have decent exposure to GWT). I was interested in the the Calendar Widget, started playing with the source code for the Calendar demo in showcase (http://www.smartclient.com/smartgwt/showcase/#workday_calendar_category). Unfortunately, the documentation for the Calendar (and most of the widgets) is non-existent or the javadocs is extremely confusing. I am unable to comprehend seemingly important "stuff" in that example. Particularly, these lines of code
    Code:
    DataSourceTextField nameField = new DataSourceTextField("name");
    		DataSourceTextField descField = new DataSourceTextField("description");
    		descField.setCanEdit(false);

DataSourceDateField startDateField = new DataSourceDateField(
    				"startDate");
    		DataSourceDateField endDateField = new DataSourceDateField("endDate");

eventDS.setFields(eventIdField, nameField, descField, startDateField,
    				endDateField);
    Commenting/Uncommenting the fields (except the eventIdField) seems to have no effect on the events in the rendered Calendar. Could someone please help me understand the basics of the Calendar Widget? Also, could someone please point to any books/documentation/paid training material to learn SmartGWT. Thanks much!!

- chandra

Start with the QuickStart guide to understand what a DataSource is and get an overview of data binding. Then look at the Calendar class docs and the docs for startDateField, endDateField et al.

Comment

Originally posted by Isomorphic
      Start with the QuickStart guide to understand what a DataSource is and get an overview of data binding. Then look at the Calendar class docs and the docs for startDateField, endDateField et al.
      didnt notice quick start guide. will do. thanks

Comment

Originally posted by Isomorphic