Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

Can I use ECMAScript2015 type=module in SmartClient?

Hello, SmartClient Team.

I am a new developer using SmartClient, so I don't know if that is a simple question but I couldn't find any answer in the documentation.

I created an application using Javascript UI components using script tags following the documentation, but now I want to check if it is possible to use ES6 modules to package my application and use in other projects.

I tried to import SmarClient modules using:

```
    import "../../isomorphic/system/modules/ISC_Core.js";

```

but I receive this error:

```
    Uncaught SyntaxError: Strict mode code may not include a with statement (at ISC_Core.js:259:12) ```

If I try to use type=module in the script tag I receive the same error. Is there a way of using SmartClient components without importing the core script as a global variable in the HTML file?
    Last edited by Isomorphic; 23 Aug 2024, 14:52.

If you try out our React Support, and add a SmartClient framework dependency to your React app, you'll see that we provide a "compatibility wrapper" that can be imported from your React app to load our framework, though it's not loaded as an ES6 module, but directly into the isc object/namespace just as in our SDK download.

Here's the initial/relevant part of that wrapper:
    Code:
    if (!(window && window.isc && window.isc.module_Core) &&
        (!window || !window.Window || !(window instanceof window.Window) ||
         !window.Navigator || !(window.navigator instanceof window.Navigator) ||
         !window.Document || !(window.document instanceof window.Document)))
    {
        throw new Error('Module smartclient-eval can only run in an environment such as React, where a real window with navigator and document objects are present.');
    }

if (!window.isc) window.isc = {};

if (!window.isc.module_Core) require('../../../isomorphic/system/modules/ISC_Core.js');